Stars from Roosevelt High School – Ryah Nixon

Ryah nixon

After graduating from high school, I attended Carnegie Mellon University’s School of Drama where I received my BFA in musical the-atre (graduating in a class of 11 people).
Following graduation, I was cast as the understudy to the lead in the Broadway tour of Dolly Parton’s musical “9 to 5”, and had the op-portunity to tour the country with this wonderful show for a year. I was able to close the tour playing the Dolly Parton character “Doralee”. Most recently I had the amazing opportunity to play Maureen in “Rent” this summer at the 5th Avenue Theatre, and this spring I’m doing a Tennessee Williams play, before heading back to the 5th Avenue Theatre for “Pirates of Penzance”!
My favorite memory of “9 to 5” was getting to meet the fabulous Ms. Dolly Parton for the first time. She is hands down the most down to earth, genuine, and wonderful person I have ever come in contact with, and spent as much time with our cast as her insanely busy schedule could allow! A close tie would definitely be the night I got to go on as Doralee in Seattle…

 
I had probably 150 of my closest friends and family from my Seattle world there, and getting to perform for the first time on the 5th Avenue Stage in a lead role was magical! I believe that Roosevelt (by the leadership of Ruben Van Kempen and Beth Orme) definitely prepared us for the professional world; not only are the productions amazingly advanced, but the level of training we received second to none.
My favorite production at RHS was definitely “Once Upon a Mattress”. This was my senior musical, and the role of “Fred” (originated by Carol Burnett) was and still is one of my dream roles! I am still incredibly grateful to VK & Mrs. Orme for the opportunity to play that role, it was such a blast. I think what makes RHS program so unique is all of the levels that the program has to offer.
Between Dramafest and Musical, the kids in the theatre department at Roosevelt never have a loss of opportunities. And the success of the program is definitely exemplified in the amazing list of alumni that the program has to offer. Roosevelt High school is hands down the best in the northwest! I think what makes RHS program so unique is all of the levels that the program has to offer. Be-tween Dramafest and musical, the kids in the theatre department at Roosevelt never have a loss of opportunities.
And the success of the program is definitely exemplified in the amazing list of alumni that the program has to offer.

About civilianglobal

- Featuring employers who are hiring, and what these employers look for - Providing social media tips and online dos and don'ts from large firm hiring managers and personal branding experts - Keeping a global perspective in a modern, global work environment
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

